Home  »  library  »  BIOS  »  Daniel Defoe (1661?–1731)

C.D. Warner, et al., comp.
The Library of the World’s Best Literature. An Anthology in Thirty Volumes. 1917.

Daniel Defoe (1661?–1731)

Defoe, Daniel. The author of ‘Robinson Crusoe’; born in St. Giles Parish, Cripplegate, 1660 or 1661; died near London, April 26, 1731. His works comprise political tracts, verse, polemic writings, economic and social pamphlets, romances, histories, and biographies. Among them are: ‘The Storm’ (1704); ‘Apparition of Mrs. Veal’ (1706); ‘Robinson Crusoe’ (1719); ‘Further Adventures of Robinson Crusoe’ (1719); ‘King of Pirates’ (1719); ‘Duncan Campbell’ (1720); ‘Mr. Campbell’s Pacquet’ (1720); ‘Memoirs of a Cavalier’ (1720); ‘Captain Singleton’ (1720); ‘Moll Flanders’ (1722); ‘Journal of the Plague Year’ (1722); ‘Cartouche’ (1722); ‘Colonel Jack’ (1722); ‘The Highland Rogue’ (1723); ‘The Fortunate Mistress’ (1724); ‘Narrative of Murders at Calais’ (1724); ‘John Sheppard’ (1724); ‘Account of Jonathan Wild’ (1725); and other romances. His pamphlets include: ‘Essay upon Projects’ (1698); ‘Shortest Way with Dissenters’ (1702); and ‘Political History of the Devil’ (1726). (See Critical and Biographical Introduction).