Home  »  library  »  BIOS  »  Henrik Ibsen (1828–1906)

C.D. Warner, et al., comp.
The Library of the World’s Best Literature. An Anthology in Thirty Volumes. 1917.

Henrik Ibsen (1828–1906)

Ibsen, Henrik (ib’sen). A Norwegian dramatist; born in Skien, March 20, 1828; died on May 23, 1906. His plays are: ‘Brand,’ a drama; ‘Peer Gynt,’ a dramatic poem; ‘Emperor and Galilean,’ a historic drama (in two parts: i., ‘Julian’s Apostasy’; ii., ‘Julian the Emperor’); ‘The Pillars of Society,’ a satiric comedy (1877); ‘The Warriors at Helgeland,’ a historical drama (1858); ‘Love’s Comedy,’ a satirical play; and the series comprising: ‘A Doll’s House’ (1879); ‘Ghosts’ (1881); ‘An Enemy of the People’ (1882); ‘The Wild Duck’ (1884); ‘Rosmersholm’ (1886); ‘The Lady from the Sea’ (1888); ‘Hedda Gabler’ (1890); and ‘The Master Builder’ (1892); ‘Little Eyolf’ (1894); ‘John Gabriel Borkman’ (1896); ‘When We Dead Awaken’ (1899), all of which are alike in that they aim to dissect the conventionalities of the social system under which we live. (See Critical and Biographical Introduction).