Home  »  library  »  BIOS  »  Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792–1822)

C.D. Warner, et al., comp.
The Library of the World’s Best Literature. An Anthology in Thirty Volumes. 1917.

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792–1822)

Shelley, Percy Bysshe. The celebrated English poet; born at Warnham, near Horsham, Sussex, Aug. 4, 1792; drowned off the coast of Italy, July 8, 1822. He wrote: ‘Zastrozzi’ (1810), a romance; ‘St. Irvyne’ (1811), a romance; ‘The Necessity of Atheism’ (1811?), a treatise; ‘A Poetical Essay on the Existing State of Things’ (1811); ‘An Address to the Irish People’ (1812); ‘Proposals for an Association of those Philanthropists who, Convinced of the Inadequacy of the Moral and Political State of Ireland to Produce Benefits which are, nevertheless, Attainable, are Willing to Unite to Accomplish its Regeneration’ (1812); ‘Queen Mab: A Philosophic Poem’ (1813); ‘A Vindication of Natural Diet’ (1813); ‘A Refutation of Deism’ (1814); ‘Alastor, or the Spirit of Solitude, and Other Poems’ (1816); ‘A Proposal for Putting Reform to the Vote throughout the Kingdom’ (1817); ‘A Six-Weeks’ Tour’ (1817), in collaboration with Mary Godwin; ‘Laon and Cythna’ (1818), subsequently altered and reissued as ‘The Revolt of Islam: A Poem’ (1818, some few copies being erroneously dated 1817); ‘Rosalind and Helen: A Modern Eclogue; with Other Poems’ (1819); ‘The Cenci: A Tragedy’ (1819); ‘Prometheus Unbound: A Lyrical Drama’ (1820); ‘Œdipus Tyrannus, or Swellfoot the Tyrant: A Tragedy in Two Acts; Translated from the Original Doric’ (1820); ‘Epipsychidion: Verses addressed to the Noble and Unfortunate Lady Emilia V——’ (1821); ‘Adonais: An Elegy on the Death of John Keats’ (1821); ‘Hellas: A Lyrical Drama’ (1822),—the last of Shelley’s works issued during his lifetime. After his death there appeared: ‘Posthumous Poems’ (1824); ‘The Masque of Anarchy: A Poem; Now First Published’ (1832); ‘The Shelley Papers’ (1833); ‘Essays, Letters from Abroad, Translations, and Fragments’ (1840); ‘The Dæmon of the World: the First Part as Published in 1816 with ‘Alastor’; the Second Part Deciphered and now First Printed’ (1876). (See Critical and Biographical Introduction).