Home  »  library  »  BIOS  »  William Butler Yeats (1865–1939)

C.D. Warner, et al., comp.
The Library of the World’s Best Literature. An Anthology in Thirty Volumes. 1917.

William Butler Yeats (1865–1939)

Yeats, William Butler. An Irish poet and writer of romance; born in Dublin, June 13, 1865; died in 1939. His first book of poems, containing the ‘Island of Statues,’ and other brief plays and poems, is included in his later volume, ‘The Wanderings of Oisin’ (1887). Three volumes of ‘Irish Folk Lore,’ ‘Fairy Tales,’ and ‘Irish Stories,’ were published in the Camelot series. He also wrote: ‘Celtic Twilight’ (1893); ‘Poems’ (1893); and ‘John Sherman and Dhoya’ (1893); ‘The Secret Rose’ and ‘The Wind among the Reeds’; ‘The Shadowy Waters’; ‘In the Seven Woods’; ‘The King’s Threshold’; ‘Deirdre’; ‘The Hour Glass’; ‘The Unicorn from the Stars’; ‘Cathleen ni Houlihan’; ‘Rosa Alchemica’; ‘Mosada’; ‘Countess Cathleen’; ‘Golden Helmet.’ A complete edition of his works in eight volumes appeared in 1909. (See Critical and Biographical Introduction).