Home  »  The Standard Book of Jewish Verse  »  II. Talmudical Period

Joseph Friedlander, comp. The Standard Book of Jewish Verse. 1917.

II. Talmudical Period

The Sea of the Talmud—Joseph Leiser
The Talmud—S. Frug (Trans. Alice Stone Blackwell)
Hillel and His Guest—Alice Lucas
Akiba—Alter Abelson
Sunshine After Storm—William Dearness
Who Serves Best—George Alexander Kohut
Be Not Like Servants Basely Bred—Alice Lucas
The Commandment of Forgetfulness—Alice Lucas
Who Are the Wise?—Anonymous
What Rabbi Jehosha Said—James Russell Lowell
Brotherly Love—Attributed to Thomas Bailey Aldrich
God’s Messengers—Mrs. A. R. Levy
Ben Karshook’s Wisdom—Robert Browning
The Vision of Huna—Abram S. Isaacs
Rabbi Ben Hissar—Anonymous
The Messenger—O. B. Merrill
The Forgotten Rabbi—G. M. H.
The Two Rabbins—John Greenleaf Whittier
The Two Rabbis—Mrs. Levitus
At Last—Adelaide G. Waters
The Passing of Rabbi Assi—Edwin Pond Parker
The Lent Jewels—Richard Chenevix Trench
The Loan—Sabine Baring-Gould
The Two Friends—John Godfrey Saxe
The Rabbi’s Vision—Frances Browne
The Emperor and the Rabbi—George Croly
He of Prayer—J. F.
The Angel of Truth—Leopold Stein
The Faithful Bride—Anonymous
The Tongue—John D. Nussbaum
The Tongue—Anonymous
The Universal Mother—Sabine Baring-Gould
Sandalphon—Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
Repent One Day Before Thy Death—Rabbi Eleazar
Value of Repentance—Robert Herrick